English

TOEFL registration

I just registered for the TOEFL iBT test!! And I’m already feeling a little bit nervous! I will be taking the exam on February 26th in Pozuelo de Alarcón, Madrid. If you want to register for the test, you can go to the official web page: http://www.ets.org/toefl/ibt/register/.

First of all, I must say that I’m a little bit disappointed with the availability of days offered to take the exam. I wanted to take the exam either on a Saturday or Sunday some time in the next two weeks. The first weekend available was the 26th!! I have to wait almost a month to take the exam, so for all of you considering taking the test in Madrid, take notice and register in advance!

The registration process was really easy and I completed it in a few minutes. After entering some personal information, and answering some general questions, I had my account created and could select a date to take the exam.

I was asked whether I wanted to send my test report to four Universities that I would have to select… and I realized that my way to an MBA was officially starting in that precise moment. I selected four Universities (you can always add more after you take the test by paying a fee), not after having some trouble in the selection of the Universities’ code.

As I mentioned earlier, I’m already a little bit excited. Facing the TOEFL test, I feel nearer to what the real race to an MBA feels like. So far, I have just been practicing for the TOEFL, and doing research about the Universities, but in less than a month, the real game begins.

I’ve covered the four sections of the test, and so far I see that for me, the speaking section is my Achilles’ heel. You would expect that after three years in the US, I would not have any trouble with this section, but the truth is that after more than 10 years without speaking English, and with so little time to prepare your answers in the test, I usually go blank when I’m giving my answers.

I have less than a month to try to get used to the speaking section, get used to the different types of questions there are, and how to answer to each of them. There are templates for this section, and I will be practicing with them for the next weeks. I’ll post about these templates in the future.

The reading, the listening, and the writing section are easier for me, and I usually perform very well on them. I hope that on the test day it won’t be any surprises with these sections! I count on them to rise my overall score.

Anyways, I’ll keep you posted on my performance until my test day, and I will try to publish more useful information about the TOEFL.

I’ll be seeing you in 26 days TOEFL!

2 thoughts on “TOEFL registration

Leave a Reply

