English

Bad feelings about the TOEFL

Hey everyone!

Today I did the TOEFL, and I don’t have good feelings about the test! My first impression is that I will not be achieving my objective: 110 points. Why do I think so? Because I screwed up on the Reading!!

ESIC PozueloBut first things first. I took the test on the ESIC‘s building in Pozuelo (Madrid). We were more than 20 people in my classroom taking the test, and the material provided (computer, headset, and microphone) was in good shape.

I had trouble calibrating the microphone, and I had to ask for help. It was crazy, hearing so many people talking at the same time while I tried to concentrate on the test…

The Reading section, the one that I was most confident with, made me go through a rally bad time. The texts were way too long, and I didn’t have enough time to finish one them! Throughout the whole Reading section I went counter-flow, and I struggled from question to question during the whole section.

The Listening wasn’t that bad, even though I got really confused questions: there were several of them that had similar answers, and it was hard telling which one was the right one.

However, the Speaking and Writing sections weren’t that bad, and I think I did a really good job. I just went blank once on a question in the Speaking, but it just took me a couple of seconds to recover, and I ended up giving a good, complete answer.

Now I have to wait up to three weeks for the test’s results. I’m already anxious!

I won’t be wasting no time, and starting no latter than on Monday I will start studying for the GMAT. I scheduled my exam for the end of April, so I have to hurry up.

This is a race against time! Hope the TOEFL doesn’t slow me down…

10 thoughts on “Bad feelings about the TOEFL

  1. cheer up my friend!!!, you will see as things are going right and eventually your GMAT and TOEFL exams are going to turn out better than you now expect.

    YES, YOU CAN, YOU CAN!!!(DON’T FORGET ABOUT IT WHEN YOU FEEL DOWN)

  2. BY THE WAY, AS I KNOW THAT YOU ARE STUDYING FOR THE “GMAT CHALLENGE” HAHA, I HAVE SOME VERY USEFUL MATERIAL (BOOKS, ETC) AND I COULD SELL IT TO YOU AT A QUARTER OF ITS PRICE.

    IF YOU ARE INTERESTED IN, LET ME KNOW.

    CHEERIO

  3. O.k I know this is an old post, but i took the test this morning and I can feel complitely identified with you. My worst is and have always been the reading section, I was lacking of time and I guessed like 8 answers… for me speaking and writing are much easier, however, you never know what to expect…listening, I was so anxoius that I couldn´t concentrate 100%. I presented the TOEFL 4 years ago and I got what I needed, but now I`m afraid I could have done worst and I need now at least 100. I´ve been reading about all these people who was scared before receiving their scores and then they did really well, hopefully it could happens the same to me.

Leave a Reply

