English

Watch out for social networks

Recently I came up with a really interesting article that I want to share with you all. I don’t remember where I read it, but I retained the main idea:

Admissions officers use Facebook to recruit students

This article made me think about the following:

  1. It’s incredible the use of social networks nowadays.
  2. I better check my privacy settings on Facebook!

If admissions officers use social networks when recruiting such as Facebook, theyFacebook logo could get access to some information that you would not want them to see, such as pictures of your last summer vacation, or hanging out with friends. It can happen that certain pictures can give a bad impression, and I think it would be wise to check what information you show to the entire world. I have updated my personal information on Facebook, so that every person viewing my public profile can just see my general information.

On the other hand, there are other social networks that can tell a lot about yourself, and are very useful when searching for information about a certain person. These tools can be useful on the application process. I talk about social networks such as Linkedin.

I have also updated my Linkedin account, where I show publicly almost all theLinkedin logo information I can. I do want people to know what I have done in the past, what achievements I have got, and what the people that have taught, or worked with me have to say about myself. I think this information shows who I really am better than a picture of me on vacation, with my family, or friends, that sometimes can be misinterpreted, and I need to make sure that is visible.

As an example, I want to share with you this link, where they talk about this matter. As the article states, “your online images can be the difference between a rejection and an acceptance letter”.

I have been reading since I began preparing for the MBA race that every detail counts on your application, and I would not want to spoil it because of something silly. You have to tie up every aspect of your candidacy, and make it count!

So, make the social networks play in your favor, use them wisely, and good luck with your own race!!

Leave a Reply

