English

UCLA Anderson School of Management

As I mentioned on an earlier post, one of the Schools I will be applying is UCLA Anderson School of Management. The Schools is located in Los Angeles, California, 15 minutes drive from the beach of Santa Monica.

UCLA Anderson logo

To those who didn’t know, I lived in San Diego a really long time ago for six months. I had the chance to visit Los Angeles several times, an awesome place with a magnificent weather, very much like that of my homeland.

Anderson is a really good place for entrepreneurship. The Price Center for Entrepreneurial Studies provides many extracurricular and academic opportunities to students, such as the Knapp Venture Competition,  a student-run business competition . The winner can win up to $12,000!

The class size is around 360 students, and there are up to 49 countries represented at the School. Most graduates students go work in finance (25,9%), technology (18,5%) or consulting (18,0%).

UCLA Anderson building

I had the chance to talk to several students at Anderson, Javier and Jacobo, great guys!! I reached them after doing some research about students from Spain on the School’s website. They were eager to talk to me about their School, and about all the possibilities it offers. We talked about the city, life on campus, the MBA program, subjects, and stuff like that. I want to thank both of them for their help and for sharing with me their experience at Anderson.

Deadlines for the Full-time MBA program are:

  • Round 1: October 26; decision released by January 25.
  • Round 2: January 11; decision released by April 4.
  • Round 3: April 18; decision released by June 6.

I have already started working on the online application, and writing my essays. Overall, it’s not a difficult application and the essay questions are very straight forward:

  • What events or people have had the greatest influence in shaping your character and why (750 words).
  • What are your short-term and long-term goals, and how will an MBA from UCLA Anderson specifically help you achieve these goals (750 words).

I will be doing more research about the School during the following weeks, but so far I’m really satisfied with the School, its program, and its people.

Leave a Reply

