English

Kellogg School of Management

As I mentioned on an earlier post, one of the Schools I will be applying is Kellogg Kellogg logoSchool of Management. The Schools is located in Evanston, Illinois, half an hour drive from the city of Chicago.

I’ve never been to Evanston, but I have visited Chicago twice and I love the city, it’s amazing! There are hundreds of beautiful buildings, each with a different construction, and the city is right by the Lake Michigan and has several beaches, awesome!

What I’ve heard about Evanston is that it is a really good, welcoming place to live, where students are located very close to each other, thus with endless opportunities to hang out and do all sorts of activities. Many students take the train to visit the city of Chicago, usually to go out at night, since it is not far away from Evanston.

If you read my earlier post about Kellogg, the School offers a lot of possibilities to focus your MBA program on those aspects you really want. It has one of the best Marketing programs of the world, and an amazing General Management concentration. Furthermore, Kellogg’s concentration in Entrepreneurship is great. The Levy Institute offers lots of extracurricular and academic activities to students, and it also holds an annual contest called the Kellogg Cup Business Plan Competition.

Evanston, Illinois

 

Around 480 students make up the Full-time MBA class each year. Usually most of these students end up working in a consulting related job. The top three employers are consulting firms: The Boston Consulting Group, McKinsey & Company, and Bain & Company.

Kellogg has a unique approach about its application, which is divided into two parts:

  • Part I: general information about the applicant, tests scores, interview request, and resume.
  • Part II: letters of recommendation, essays, transcripts, and additional information.

The deadlines for the Full-time MBA program are:

  • Round 1: part I on September 22nd; part II on October 18th.
  • Round 2: part I on December 14th; part II on January 10th.
  • Round 3: part I on March 22nd; part II on April 5th.

I have already started working on the part I online application, and I will be applying before December 14th. The essays are the following:

  • Briefly assess your career progress to date. Elaborate on your future career plans and your motivation for pursuing an MBA. (600-word limit)
  • Describe your key leadership experiences and evaluate what leadership areas you hope to develop through your MBA experiences. (600-word limit)
  • Assume you are evaluating your application from the perspective of a student member of the Kellogg Admissions Committee. Why would you and your peers select you for admission, and what impact would you make as a member of the Kellogg community? (600-word limit)
  • Complete one of the following three questions or statements (400-word limit): 1) Describe a time you had to inspire a reluctant individual or group. 2) People may be surprised to learn that I. 3) The riskiest personal or professional decision I ever made was.

I had the opportunity to attend a Student Ambassador event at Madrid several months ago and I am in contact with several Kellogg students from Spain. So far I’m really pleased with everything I know about the School, and the people I have met are awesome.

Leave a Reply

