English

Duke University’s Fuqua School of Business

As I mentioned on an earlier post, one of the Schools I will be applying is Duke Fuqua School of Business. The School is located in Durham, North Carolina.Duke Fuqua School of Business logo

I have never been to Durham, but I’ve visited other North Carolina cities, which were very welcoming. I like the weather and I like the city’s location, since I have family at Florida that I could go visit.

Something really good about Durham is its proximity to cities such as Atlanta, an important location for consulting firms.

Furthermore, Fuqua makes a difference on Entrepreneurship, thanks to its Center for Entrepreneurship and Innovation (CEI), offering many extra-curricular activities, providing a lot of possibilities with the Entrepreneurship and Venture Capital Club (EVCC), and hosting the Duke Start-Up Challenge.

Duke University's Fuqua School of Business

Fuqua’s class size is about 440 students, where 30% of the students come from abroad. The top three hiring companies at Fuqua are Deloitte, Mckinsey & Company and The Boston Consulting Group.

Fuqua’s deadlines are the following:

  • Round 1: 1st of November.
  • Round 2: 4th of January.
  • Round 3: 8th of March.

Fuqua also offers the possibility to apply on the Early Action option before the 29th of September. If you consider this option, you must agree to withdraw your application from any other School if you are admitted to The Duke MBA.

I had the privilege to meet a current student by Skype (what would we do without technology…) and talked me over the program, life on campus and general topics. Thanks José María for your help!

I have started writing my essays, and I’m almost done filling in the online application form. Advise: don’t leave your online application form for the last day, you might encounter an unpleasant surprise. You should go over this part of the process right before starting your essays, so that you will be sure what to expect and what requirements you must meet before applying to that School.

Leave a Reply

