English

GMAT: speechless

Hi folks!

I have just got home from my GMAT test. I don’t know what to think any more: 610 Q42, V31. The last time I got such a low grade was more than four months ago, when preparing my second assault.

What the hell happened today? I finished the math section really confident!! I thought this time I had it! But… 42 in math!!?? C´mon!!! And after getting really good scores on my prep tests and after doing hundreds of SC and CR questions… I get again a 31 the verbal section.

This last month I took four prep tests:

  • 29/12/2011 GMAT prep test – 750 Q49, V42
  • 31/12/2011 Manhattan GMAT test – 690 Q46 V38
  • 02/01/2012 GMAT prep test – 760 Q50 V44
  • 03/01/2012 Manhattan GMAT test – 680 Q48 V35

I know that prep tests do not reflect my real level any more (by now I know most of the verbal questions), but the Manhattan GMAT tests were new for me, and I scored well.

I’ve wasted a lot of time preparing the GMAT, I’ve missed a lot of stuff because I had to study for this test. No need to mention all the money I have spent, just do the math: private tutoring, four tests, books… mucho dinero!!

So, what now? I’ve applied to Booth and Fuqua. Tomorrow I’ll submit Kellogg, and probably the following day Anderson. But do I stand any chance of getting into a top MBA program with a 640?! Undoubtedly, I have very little chances of getting in, but I must try, I’m not just a GMAT score.

8 thoughts on “GMAT: speechless

  1. Your GMAT score may seem a bit lower that the average but, as you said, you are far more than a GMAT score, just make it clear in your essays and CV.

    Best luck with your applications!

  2. Hey did you apply with the same score or did you retake ? I got 690 but thinking of a retake as I belong to Indian IT male crowd 😦

Leave a Reply

