English

New Life in Austria

Hi there!

It’s been a really long time since I posted on my blog, but the last two months have been really crazy for me!

First, I had to prepare my leave from my previous company, finishing the project I was working on. Afterwards, I had to prepare my move to Austria, to the region of Vorarlberg. Finally, I enjoyed some days off in Cádiz (Southern Spain), so I haven’t had time to write on the blog for several weeks. Furthermore, I have been without Internet connection for the last two weeks!

As I mentioned on an earlier post, I decided to move to Austria and accept a job offer as Project Manager in a multinational transportation logistic company. We – my wife, our dog, and I – got here one week ago, after driving from Madrid (Spain) and visiting some parts of France, Italy and Austria. And last Monday I started working on my new job! What a week!

One thing that I can tell you about this place is that is in the middle of the mountains, and that we are in direct contact with nature. The views here are fascinating! Today, after five days in a row without seeing the sun, the weather worsened, and the clouds hid the mountains surrounding my city!

Clouds covering the mountains

Behind those clouds are The Alps!

The most famous sport in Vorarlberg is skiing – no wonder, with so many mountains! I can’t wait to go snowboarding! Last winter, they had more than 5 meters of snow in the closest – and with the lowest altitude – ski area. They struggled cleaning the area, as there was no more room to put the snow aside.

The rest of the year, people cycle a lot, and do trekking. I love sports, so I haven’t wasted time and I have already gone running. Furthermore, next week I will participate in a 10km run, organized by several companies of the business center where my company is located, and in a six-hour trekking route organized by my company for next weekend.

Despite all that I am living lately, I haven’t forgotten about my goal: get into a top business school to study an MBA. With that in mind, I have almost finished my Fuqua application for Early Action (deadline September 19th). I just need to go over some minor details on the online application, and wait to receive the only recommendation that I need to present this year, as I am a re-applicant.

On coming posts I’ll share with you more about my Fuqua application and about my new Life in Vorarlberg (Austria).

Leave a Reply

