English

Duke Campout 2013

Home sweet home!

Home sweet home!

Around this time, two weeks ago, I was driving a U-Haul truck that 7 classmates and I rented for the weekend. The U-Haul had many things: a grill, a beer pong table, several camping chairs, some sleeping bags, many coolers, and all sorts of food and chips. And lots of drinks. Our truck had everything that we needed for Duke’s campout! Well, actually we runout of drinks and we had to buy more before campout was over…

What is campout, you ask? Is a 36 hour camping event that takes place every year. During campout, all students that have registered can participate in a lottery to win season tickets for the Duke’s basketball team. But every reward requires some sacrifice. In order to get your name into the lottery, you have to check-in at a designated place every time all campers are called.

Every now and then, they will play a siren, or blow whistles, and every camper has to run to the chech-in and sign in. If a camper misses more than one check-in they are out of the lottery. You have 5 minutes to check-in after they make the call. They will made us sign at day and night, every 20 minutes… whenever! During the 36 hours that lasted campout, we had around 20 check-ins. Just to give you an idea, between 1500 and 2000 people started campout, and around 1100 were able to finish it.

I was part of a team of 8 people. We decided to get together to have more chances of getting tickets. We  bought all our gear together and supported each other keeping watch for the check-ins in the middle of the night. My team was really diverse: Kirk, Ben, and Monica from the US, Vijay from India, Saba from Pakistan, Masan from Serbia, and Heonsu from South Korea.

Campout started right after school. I had to go pick up the U-Haul at 2PM on Friday and be at the campsite at 8PM. Since then, I spent the next 36 hours meeting people, playing card and drinking games, singing… and drinking a little bit more. I even got to play soccer with a bunch of classmates at 4AM!! I think I only slept for 3 or 4 hours during campout!

We received two great visits on Saturday. First, our Day-Time MBA Dean, Russ Morgan, visited us and brought us donuts! It was really nice of him, and an example that shows the kind of spirit that you can find here at Fuqua.

With Russ Morgan and some of my campout team

With Russ Morgan and some of my teammates at Campout

Coach K and Duke's basketball team

Coach K and Duke’s basketball team

We also had the opportunity of meeting Coach K, Duke and USA’s basketball coach.  He came and gave us a great speech, making it clear that if we ever go to Cameron -Duke’s basketball team stadium- we must cheer for Duke. Go Duke! He also told us a funny story about the time he met Beyonce and Jay-Z. I’d love to hang around with him, I’m sure he has so many different and great stories to tell!

Finally, the entire Duke basketball team showed up and thanked us for supporting them, and asked us to keep supporting throughout the season. You can count on me, guys!

After spending 36 hours with barely a couple of hours of sleep, after being drinking and partying for almost two days, and after bearing a very warm Saturday, by 6AM on Sunday I was feeling exhausted. The good news was that I made it to all the check-ins, and I participated in the lottery!

However, luck was not on my side this time, and personally did not win tickets. Luckily for me, 4 of my campout teammates won tickets, so I will have the chance of going several times to watch Duke basketball team play at Cameron. I am already thinking about how to improve my next year’s campout experience and anxious to watch our basketball team play! GO DUKE!

It was worth the effort!

It was worth the effort!

Leave a Reply

