English

Introducing my Teammates

Fuqua is a student driven business school, but most importantly, everything that happens in the school is team driven. All first years students are divided in 6 sections, and then each section is divided in teams of 5-7 students. This happens during the last day of Orientation, and before classes start.

Today, I want to introduce you to my teammates. I have been wanting to write this post for a long time now, but I never found the time. I am spending many hours with these 5 great guys, and they are being really helpful and nice to me. I hope this post gives you a better impression of the global and diverse experience that you can find at Fuqua.

Ladies and gentleman, let me introduce you to Team 12 of Section 5!!

Adam

Adam is from Minnesota, USA. Sometimes he reminds me of Marshall Eriksen, from How I Met Your Mother: he is also from Minnesota, he’s tall, he’s funny and has a kind heart -Adam comes from the Peace Corps. He studied Arts in Georgetown University and has also worked for the Clinton Health Access Initiative.

Vijay

Vijay is the other international in my team. However, he has being living in California for the last eight years. He is from India and studied Electrical and Electronics Engineering. Before the MBA, Vijay worked at Qualcomm as a Design Engineer. He is married and has a one year old son.

Marianna

Marianna -or “Mary Anna”, as her mother calls her- is the teammate I admire the most. She is from Maryland, USA and was a helicopter pilot for the US Department of Defense. She is married and has a daughter and a son. MBAs complain for all the things that we have to do, both inside and outside classes. Marianna is doing all that, plus raising two kids and taking care of her home. OLÉ Marianna! She is considering applying for a General Management role in California.

Jon

Jon is from California, USA, but his family comes from Taiwan. He studied Economics at University of California, San Diego. He has experience in finance at a consulting firm and in the Education sector. It’s great seeing Jon presenting, as it is then when the “professor” that he has inside comes out.

Will

Will is the youngest in my team and is also from California -I am learning a lot about this American State thanks to my team! Will studied Finance & Information Systems in California Polytechnic State University and has worked most of his career in technology at PWC.

Team 12

First picture with my team during Orientation

I am extremely happy with my team and we all get along. We usually have one or two one-hour and a half team meetings per week to work on assignments. So far we have performed really well and we are always considering ways to improve and be more efficient with our time -one of the most important things when you are in business school.

My next goal is to invite my team over to my house and cook some Spanish dishes and make sangría. Team building!

Leave a Reply

