English

Finally, We Got Some Snow in Durham!

Up to this point, I was already thinking that I would not see a decent snow fall this year. But I was wrong! Although I’ve seen much worst, this is good enough for Durham: more than 8 inches (20 cm) of snow!

We were told that a “severe” ice storm was approaching Durham, and that school would close at noon on Wednesday. I was at Fuqua studying with Enrique, another Spaniard at Fuqua. We started getting calls from our wives telling us to come back home, it was snowing a lot.

We left school to find out that everything was already white, but you could drive easily on the road. However, the moment we left the surroundings of the school, we found out that roads were collapsed, as everyone in Durham was trying to get back home. The roads froze immediately and cars started to slip, seeing several accidents on our way.

After deciding to leave the car in a parking lot, I went to my friend’s house. Enrique and Kat gave me food and shelter for several hours -thanks guys, you saved my life! I decided that I would give it another shoot and try to head back home. After 3 hours, roads were almost empty. I decided to drive, although on the news were advising people to stay at home.

Driving in Durham on Wednesday

Driving in Durham on Wednesday

It took me more than half an hour to drive what usually takes me just 8 minutes. My car got stock twice in the middle of the road because of the ice. Several people had to push my car once, as there was no way it had not traction.

I finally made it home, and immediately changed clothes and took my dog for a walk. These are some of the pictures I took. Classes were cancelled today and have been cancelled tomorrow. Fuquans will have classes during the weekend instead!

Walking in the snow with my wife and dog

Walking in the snow with my wife and dog

My apartment complex covered with snow

My apartment complex covered with snow

Frozen tree

The outcome after one night of ice storm

The outcome after one night of ice storm

4 thoughts on “Finally, We Got Some Snow in Durham!

Leave a Reply

