English

My Last Day of Class at Fuqua

This is it! My two years at The Fuqua School of Business are coming to an end. Today I had my last class of the MBA! Lately the word I hear the most is “last”. I know I’m using it often: my last case, my last class, our last team meeting, our last lunch together at Fox, our last ride to class, last cold call, last time I save you a sit in class… I’m sure you get the idea, I LOVE IT HERE!! Fuqua is one of the best things that have happened to me and I will always remember these two years as one of the best experiences of my life. If I went back in time, I would come to Durham and start all over again without a doubt.

My last case of the MBA was for Strategy Implementation, one of the best classes at Fuqua

My last case of the MBA was for Strategy Implementation, one of the best classes at Fuqua

One of the best things I like about Duke is the “work hard, play harder” mentality. Just today we put it into practice. Several second years participated in a challenge during the break of our last class. The idea was to rush during the break and run 0.5 miles to the WaDuke -a hotel nearby Fuqua-, drink a beer, and run back to class. Class breaks are 15 minutes long! I’m happy to say that everyone who participated in my Marketing Strategy class made it in time before class started after the break!

Drinking a beer during class break at the WaDuke

Drinking a beer during class break at the WaDuke

After the break -while  I tried to catch my breath after the run back to class- I couldn’t stop thinking about how much I have enjoyed these last two years, all the great people I have met, and how much I have learned and grown, both personal and professionally. While thinking this, our professor, Christine Moorman, showed us a video of Amazon’s CEO Jeff Bezos, where he argued that we should always be enthusiastic and find new ways to innovate: “it’s always day one”. Just yesterday my Strategy Implementation profesor, Peter Johnson, told us that we should always be a student. I’ll make sure to remember this and so many more things.

It’s been a hell of a ride.

Now, back to the real world.

4 thoughts on “My Last Day of Class at Fuqua

  1. Wow! What a motivating post!

    Best of luck with your next move and, while I’m sure you’ll be sad to leave Duke, you’ll have the benefit of the past two years’ knowledge to help you tackle any challenges in the rest of your life!

Leave a comment