English

GMAT: two attempts, two failures

Last Friday I had my second attempt to conquer the GMAT, but I messed up very badly. It has been a tough week trying to get over it. However, I must be positive, and at least I improved 100 pints my prior score. My final score was 580 (Q42, V28, AWA5.5).

I must say that during the two weeks prior to my exam, I was scoring from 660 (Q46, V35) to 720 (Q47, V42). So I was really confident about my possibilities to get around 700. I put a lot of effort to improve my verbal score, and for the last two weeks I did! So I thought that last Friday would be my final go on the GMAT.

I reviewed my AWA template to try to improve my score in this section and I stopped studying 48h before the test; I wanted to be relaxed before the exam. I slept for at least 8 hours, and I bought an isotonic drink and some chocolate in order to have something to drink and eat for the breaks.

Now let’s talk about the test. I chose my desired Business Schools, and I started to work right away on the AWA questions. I had enough time to review my texts and I felt sure about my writing. “Good start”, I thought.

I took a break, which now is eight minutes maximum, and started my quant section. I didn’t have any trouble until question 10 or so, then I really started to struggle in order to answer every question. I was so concentrated on my test, and on giving an answer to each question, that I forgot what I believe to be rule number one of the GMAT: manage your time wisely. In question 20 I realized that I was behind the clock already. I didn’t want to be bothered by this and kept working as nothing was wrong. Then on question 30 or so I saw that I had a really huge problem with the time: I just had five minutes left! I rushed through three of them, and I had trouble answering to two more questions. I managed to answer all 37 questions, but I new that I missed a lot of the last questions.

I took the break, ate what was left of my chocolate bar and headed up to take the verbal section. I new that I had to do a really good verbal test, so I took my time when giving each answer. I did not learn from my mistake on the quant section, and that was my downfall: on question 30 I just had 10 minutes left. I passed my the last RC questions, I skipped two CR questions and I guessed on another two. As I was doing so, I knew that I had just thrown all my chances of getting my desired score.

I was asked if I wanted to submit my scores. Hey, I didn’t do all of this for nothing, and after all, it couldn’t go any worse than my first time. I hit YES and there it was: 580. WHAAAT?! I couldn’t really have messed up THAT bad! But I guess I did.

After that, I left the examination center with just one thought in mind: this is not over! I had a horrible day, that’s all! I want to retake the GMAT by mid November, and I will start TODAY to prepare my third attempt to the GMAT.

But the worst thing is that I couldn’t apply before R1 deadlines. I had completed an application to a Business Schools and I had another one advanced. With that score, I decided to wait for R2.

7 thoughts on “GMAT: two attempts, two failures

  1. Pingback: GMAT: third attempt! | Reaching the thirties

  2. Pingback: GMAT: el día antes del examen | Reaching the thirties

  3. Pingback: GMAT: 480 to 640, the story is not over! | Reaching the thirties

  4. I think you need to pace yourself better. You probably got low score because you ended up guessing later questions in a row. It is better to spread your incorrect answers by guessing some difficult questions that you think it would take considerable amount of time or those that you simply have no idea how to solve at the first glance. You should guess those kinds of questions every now and then to spread incorrect answers (Anyway, given that you should guess answers intelligently by using POE, so they may be the correct answers!), take back your time and get right on track.

    Please see the link below, I found it very useful. The techniques above are actually from this video. Unfortunately, I couldn’t try them out effectively because I found this video just one day before the exam. I am going to practice pacing myself now and go for my second attempt on the GMAT. For my first attempt, I got only 600, probably because I was still not comfortable with the pacing strategies that I just learnt the day before, so I ended up guessing about ten consecutive questions in each section like you did too.

    Good luck if you consider trying again.
    Wish me luck!

    • Hi Au!

      The video is really useful. It is true that I struggled on my two first attempts with timing, and I think that I also had some sort of test ansiety while doing my fourth test, making me rush through all the test.
      What I find critical is to do the real exam exactly as you would do a prep test at home. I haven’t done so in none of my tests, and maybe that is one of the reasons that I get different and such low scores.
      Anyway, I wish you the best of luck to you on your test!! Let me know how it turns out!!

Leave a comment